Olympic Donuts

Hello again! After a longer than intended hiatus, I’m finally back into blogging mode. I had planned to take a bit of a break in June, thanks to the insanity that is the end of the school year. Life continued to intervene in a variety of ways through July, but I’m back at it now with a special treat just in time for the Olympics!

Olympic Donuts

One of the deadlines I set for myself to get back into blogging was the Olympics. I am an absolute total Olympic fanatic. I love cheering on our Canadian athletes, and getting to watch sports that are rarely televised. Swimming, diving, gymnastics and kayaking are among my favourites, but I enjoy everything. I edited these photos while watching the women’s soccer game yesterday and I’m not sure how my nerves are going to take 2 weeks of competition!  I admit that I am a little concerned about Zika, water pollution and all of the other issues that seem to be plaguing Rio, but every Olympics starts off with worries and usually turns out okay.

I had a vision of edible Olympic rings and I pondered what I could make them out of…then I realized that donuts are already ring shaped!  I made baked donuts from scratch, which is actually very quick and easy, but you could buy plain donuts and decorate them.  They are the perfect centerpiece for an Olympic viewing party!

Bluenose Baker DonutsDonuts

To make the donuts, you’ll need flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, an egg, brown sugar, vanilla, milk, yogurt and butter (or dairy-free alternatives for the last 3.) A single batch will give you 8 – 9 donuts, enough for the five rings and a few extras. I made a double batch to allow for some glaze experimentation, and to have enough to go around at work.

DSCF7392

Whisk your dry ingredients in a large bowl.

DSCF7397

Whisk the egg in a medium bowl, then add the brown sugar and beat until there are no lumps. Add the yogurt and beat until smooth, then gradually beat in the milk (adding it gradually makes for less splashing.) Whisk in the butter and vanilla.

DSCF7399

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined. Super quick and easy! Mixing up the batter took me 10 minutes max, and that was was with a phone call from my tile guy in the middle! (Home renovations are one of the many reasons for my blogging break in July!)

DSCF7401

Spray your donut pan with non-stick spray. I think I’ve already gotten my money’s worth out of this pan – people are always impressed with homemade donuts!

The easiest way to get the batter into the pan is to use a large ziplock bag. I fold the edges of the bag over the rim of a bowl or large glass, fill it with batter and snip the corner.

Pipe the batter into the pan, filling the indentations about 2/3 of the way full. If the batter rises up too much your donuts won’t have holes!  Unless you have a large pan you’ll probably have some batter left over.

DSCF7403

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes at 350°, until the edges are lightly browned and a toothpick comes out clean.

DSCF7410

Cool the donuts in the pan briefly, then transfer to a wire rack. Let the pan cool for a few minutes, then wipe with a paper towel, re-spray and fill with the remaining batter.

Let the donuts cool completely before glazing.

DSCF7405

The glaze is super simple – icing sugar, milk and a touch of vanilla. Whisk them together in a small bowl.

DSCF7413

To make the donuts into Olympic rings, you’ll need sprinkles or colored sugar in black, blue, red, green and yellow.

DSCF7419

Dunk one side of each donut into the glaze, then set on a wire rack over a baking sheet.

DSCF7428

DSCF7423

I dip 4 or 5 donuts, let the glaze set for a minute or two, then add sprinkles.  Lots of sprinkles!

Yellow Donut

DSCF7435

Gold medal worthy!

Olympic Donuts by the Bluenose Baker

A blogger finds props anywhere…I have been dragging boxes out of my parents’ basement and attic and the latest one was full of childhood medals and awards. I think these were from Grade 2 public speaking and the 100m butterfly!

Will you be watching the Olympics? Which events are you looking forward to?

 

Olympic Donuts

  • Servings: 8 – 9 donuts
  • Time: 40 minutes
  • Print

Ingredients:

Donuts:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • ⅓ cup packed brown sugar
  • ¼ cup plain or vanilla yogurt (dairy, soy or coconut)
  • ¼ cup milk (dairy, rice or soy)
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract

Topping:

  • 1 ½ cups icing sugar, sifted if lumpy
  • ¼ cup milk (dairy, rice or soy)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Colored sprinkles or sugar (black, blue, green, red and yellow)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°

Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.

Whisk the egg in a medium bowl, then add the brown sugar and beat until there are no lumps. Add the yogurt and beat until smooth, then gradually beat in the milk. Whisk in the butter and vanilla.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined.

Spoon batter into a large Ziplock bag, and pipe into a sprayed donut pan.

Bake for 8 – 10 minutes at 350°, until the edges are lightly browned and a toothpick comes out clean.

Cool the donuts in the pan briefly then transfer to a wire rack. Let the pan cool for a few minutes, then wipe with a paper towel, re-spray and fill with the remaining batter.

Let the donuts cool completely before glazing.

Whisk glaze ingredients together in a small bowl.

Dunk one side of each donut into the glaze, then set on a wire rack over a baking sheet. Sprinkle with sprinkles or colored sugar.

3 thoughts on “Olympic Donuts

  1. Midge says:

    These are really cute!! The peachicks now want me to sort some out for them!! We love watching the Olympics in our house – although the swimming is our favourite – Alys has inherited my love of racing (although its been a Looooooooooooonnnnnngggg time since I raced!) & watches it for technique tips!! Bless her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

