“Egg-cellent” Easter Bark

Need a quick treat for your Easter Celebration?  This “Egg-cellent” Easter Bark is a cute, simple, speedy sweet. You could pop some in your Easter baskets, or bring a tin as a tasty hostess gift.

Easter Bark by the Bluenose Baker

I think I need to make another batch of this cheery bark as a pick-me-up! Brightly colored treats (like my rainbow cookies) make me happy, and this has been a crazy week. Every time I sat down to work on this post, I found myself griping about something. Social media is full of springtime and flowers and outdoor Easter activities…and we had a snowstorm on Monday. I’m up to my eyeballs in report cards and my middle schoolers have totally gone bonkers. Today was full of random things that went wrong. But chocolate makes everything better!

Easter Bark

Easter has always been one of my favourite holidays to bake for.  Last year was all about the peanut butter eggs, but this year I decided to go a bit quicker and simpler.

I had been calling this “Bunny Bark” despite the lack of rabbit involvement. But just as I popped it into the fridge, I saw that Sally had posted her version with the same name. They’re not quite the same, but I decided I’d go with a slightly different title. “Egg-cellent” Bark is it!

Super simple ingredients:

DSCF6845

You can use any type of chocolate you’d like for the bark. White chocolate would look really cute, while semi-sweet or dark chocolate would cut down on the sweetness a bit. I used milk chocolate, due to the fact that I have 5 pounds of it to use up (I’m down to about 3 at this point I think!) You’ll need about 350 grams (approximately 12 ounces) of chocolate.

You’ll also need candy-coated chocolate eggs. Cadbury’s Mini-Eggs would be great. I used Hershey’s Eggies because they were cheaper! Any Easter candy would work – jelly beans, pastel coloured M&Ms, even chopped up peanut butter eggs. You’ll give the eggs a rough chop to make the bark a bit easier to bite into, especially if you’re using Eggies (which I find have a harder shell.)

I also used a few candy melts for some color contrast. You can use one color, multiple colors, or even white chocolate.  I though yellow and pink looked Easter-y.

This is almost easy enough that a monkey could do it.

Place the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl and nuke it at 50% power for 2 to 2 ½ minutes, stirring every 30 seconds.

In the meantime, line a large baking sheet with parchment or wax paper.

Pour the melted chocolate onto the baking sheet and spread it into an even layer with an offset spatula.

DSCF6849

Sprinkle the candies evenly over the top.

DSCF6850

I had a brainwave at this point and remembered the Easter sprinkles hiding in the pantry.

DSCF6853

Totally optional but a few sprinkles do look cute. Even regular rainbow ones work!

Melt the candy coating in the microwave on 50% power.

DSCF6857

Dip a fork into the candy coating and use it to drizzle lines across the bark.

DSCF6858

DSCF6860

That’s it! Pop the baking sheet into the fridge for 20-30 minutes until the bark is firm.

DSCF6862

Once the bark is solid, use your hands to gently break it into bite-sized pieces.

Easter Egg Bark by the Bluenose Baker

I’m sure the Easter bunny would love to have some Easter bark left for a treat! Do kids leave treats for him these days? Why should Santa get all of the holiday treating?

DSCF6937

You may have noticed my new backdrops in some recent photos.  I made them following Cristina’s awesome tutorial and I’m in love. They were super easy (though I did have some help from my Dad!) and I really like how they look in photos.

Easter Egg Bark

 

Happy Easter to you all! I’m hoping to be done report cards by Sunday so I can relax and celebrate!

Egg-cellent

  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 350 grams (12 ounces) chocolate, roughly chopped (milk, dark or white)
  • 1 cup (220 grams) chopped candy coated eggs
  • 150 grams (8 ounces) candy melts (one color or a variety)
  • Optional: Colored sprinkles

 

Directions:

Line a large baking sheet with waxed or parchment paper.

Place the chocolate in a glass measuring cup and microwave on 50% power for 2 to 2 ½ minutes, stirring every 30 seconds, until melted. Pour the chocolate onto the baking sheet and smooth it into a thin layer with an offset spatula.

Sprinkle the candy eggs evenly over the surface of the chocolate and gently press them into the chocolate. Add sprinkles if desired.

Place the candy melts in a small microwave-safe bowl (one per color) and microwave on 50% power until melted, stirring every 30 seconds.Use a fork to drizzle the candy melts over the surface of the chocolate.

Chill the bark for 20 – 30 minutes until firm. Break into pieces and store in an air-tight container.

Makes about 670 grams.

5 thoughts on ““Egg-cellent” Easter Bark

Leave a Reply

