Baked Chicken Wings

I personally couldn’t care less about the Super Bowl. I can count on one hand the number of football games I’ve watched from start to finish, and those were all during university (Go Gaiters!) I’ve never been to a Super Bowl party, and I’m fine if that never changes. However, that doesn’t mean that I can’t create delicious Super Bowl party food, and oven baked chicken wings certainly qualify!

DSCF6158

I love chicken wings, but fried ones are way too greasy. These wings bake in the oven, so they’re a bit leaner, but still deliciously crispy. They follow a recurring theme in my kitchen – making foods flavourful on their own, without needing to rely on sauces and toppings for flavour. These wings have tons of flavour on their own, but they’re not so spicy that you can’t jazz them up.  They’re gluten free too! And even better for parties– you can make them ahead of time!

DSCF6476

These wings show up in my kitchen all the time. Throw some sweet potato fries and a veggie on the side, and they’re supper. Add bacon wrapped scallops and garlic bread and we have appetizer dinner – a favourite weekend or special occasion treat. And a big tray of wings is one of my favourite contributions for a party. My dad’s family always gathers at my parents’ place after church on Christmas Eve. We never know how many people are going to be there, but this year we had a pretty big crowd. I brought down two pans of wings – and they were a major hit. I couldn’t believe how fast they disappeared, but 3 tween/teen boys had something to do with that!

DSCF6478

Start with some chicken wings. I generally make things easier on myself and buy the ones that already have wing and drummette parts separated. However, this time I couldn’t find any. Thanks to this tutorial and my massive Jamie Oliver knife, separating them didn’t actually take that long. The spice mix makes enough to coat 15-20 wings, about 1 ½ pounds. Give them a rinse (I find raw wings can sometimes smell a little fishy if they’ve been frozen) and pat dry.

DSCF6137

The spice mix is totally customizable – use more or less, leave something out, add another spice – whatever suits you. Garlic, smoked paprika and chili powder is my go to seasoning blend – I also throw in some salt, pepper and thyme. Two secret ingredients give the wings their crispy, brown skins – cornstarch and a bit of sugar.

DSCF6131

Whisk the spices, cornstarch and sugar together in a large bowl.

DSCF6142

Add the wings and toss until they’re all coated.

DSCF6145

Place the chicken wings on a silicone lined baking sheet. You could also put the wings on a rack on the baking sheet. That does keep the wings a little leaner and crispier…but then you’d have to clean the rack. Seeing as that’s one of the  my least favourite tasks on earth, I go with silicone!

DSCF6149

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes, then flip the wings over. Bake for another 20-25 minutes, until crispy and browned.

DSCF6153

 

DSCF6479Serve as is, or coat with your favourite wing sauce.

If you’re making the wings ahead, let them cool completely on the baking sheet, and then refrigerate. To heat them up, place on a baking sheet and heat at 350 for 10-15 minutes, until hot. A crockpot also works well to heat up wings and sauce.

DSCF6490

Dig in and enjoy!

DSCF6162

Baked Chicken Wings

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ pounds chicken wings (15-20 wings)
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • ½ teaspoon ground thyme

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°.

Rinse chicken wings and pat dry with paper towels.  Whisk the rest of the ingredients together in a large bowl. Toss the chicken wings in the spice mixture, coating completely.

Place chicken wings on a silicone or parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes, turning once, until browned and crispy.

2 thoughts on “Baked Chicken Wings

Leave a Reply

