Cookie Dough Truffles

Bite-sized morsels of egg-free cookie dough,  stuffed with chocolate chips and dunked in chocolate! These are the perfect holiday treat, especially if you have a cookie monster or dough stealer around! They’re kid friendly (and nut free) but grownups love them too. Looking for a last minute sweet treat for your holiday party? Make cookie dough truffles today!

I used to hate cookie dough. I’ve always loved cookies, but never had any desire to risk salmonella (germophobe here) and eat grainy, raw dough with hard chocolate chips. Cookie dough ice cream? Nah, not when Hoofprints or Udderly Divine were options.

Along came cookie dough truffles. I first made them for my husband, who loves cookie dough. So I tried one, just for quality control. Then I had another one. And another one. Two Christmases later, they are a staple on our holiday sweet trays. I’m a total convert, I eat cookie dough out of the bowl all the time now.

DSCF6339

All it takes to turn cookie dough into decadent balls of goodness – leave out the leaveners and sub a little milk for the egg.

DSCF6349

Your cast of characters: flour, sugar, vanilla, butter, milk and mini chocolate chips. Non-dairy margarine and milk work well! I love these Enjoy Life chips, they’re the only dairy-free mini chip I’ve found. It’s nice to have a nut-free option when I’m feeding kiddos too (not sponsored, I only wish Enjoy Life knew who I was.)

DSCF6299

These guys start out like regular chocolate chip cookies.

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the milk and vanilla and mix until combined. You’ll get the best texture if the milk isn’t cold, so measure it before you start and let it hang out at room temperature for a bit.

DSCF6304

Toss a pinch of salt in with the flour. Since we’re not baking these, there’s no need for any baking soda or powder. Gradually add the flour to the mixer bowl, mixing on low speed until combined.

DSCF6306

Mix in the chocolate chips. You’ll have a very thick, sticky dough.

DSCF6307

Cover with plastic wrap and chill the dough for about an hour, until it’s un-sticky enough to work with (is there a word for that?)

Once the dough has chilled, roll it into balls. You can do whatever size you like. I prefer them bite-sized, so I do about 2 teaspoons per ball. Place them on a wax paper lined baking sheet.

DSCF6308

Freeze the dough balls for about 30 minutes.

Now you’ll need some chocolate to dip them in. You can use coating chocolate, baking chocolate or chips. I prefer semi-sweet, but milk chocolate works too. Melt it with a bit of coconut oil or shortening to keep it runny enough to dip. Use a deep bowl or measuring cup to make dipping easier.

DSCF6311

Take a few of the dough balls out, leaving the rest in the freezer. I work with about 10 at a time, so they don’t get too soft.

Drop a dough ball into the chocolate.

DSCF6316

Use a spoon or fork to drizzle chocolate over it, covering it completely.

Lift the truffle out with a fork, tapping the fork on the rim of the glass to get the excess chocolate off.

DSCF6313

Using your finger or a butter knife, slide the truffle off the fork onto a sheet of waxed paper.

DSCF6322

You can fancy them up however you’d like!

Here I just went for a few Christmas sprinkles.

DSCF6318

You can do a drizzle of chocolate (white chocolate looks great if you’re not worried about dairy.)

A few mini chips or cookie crumbs make a cute topping too.

 

 

DSCF6347

DSCF6341

Cookie Dough Truffles

Adapted from: Sally’s Baking Addiction Cookbook

Yield: About 40 truffles

Time: 2 1/2 hours

 

Ingredients:

For Truffles:

½ cup butter or margarine, softened

¾ cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons milk or cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

Pinch salt

2/3 – ¾ cup mini chocolate chips

For dipping:

12 ounces semi-sweet or milk chocolate (bars or chips)

2 teaspoons coconut oil

 

Directions:

 Cream butter and sugar together in mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in milk and vanilla. Whisk flour and salt together and gradually add to the other ingredients, mixing on low speed until combined.  Mix in chocolate chips. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and chill for about an hour.  Use your hands or a cookie scoop to form the dough into balls, about 2 teaspoons each. Freeze the truffles on a waxed paper lined baking sheet for about 30 minutes. Melt the chocolate and coconut oil in a glass measuring cup. Working with about 10 truffles at a time (leaving the rest in the freezer), dip each truffle into the chocolate. Lift it out with a fork, tapping off the excess chocolate. Place the truffles on a waxed paper lined baking sheet and sprinkle with toppings if desired. Chill until the chocolate is set, then store in a sealed container in the fridge.

Sorry for the totally wonky formatting – I’m posting this from my tablet. My computer, after months of not working great, finally checked itself into “rehab” (also known as Staples.) Hopefully it will be back soon and I can get myself back on track!

Happy holidays to all of my readers! Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog!

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Cookie Dough Truffles

  1. Emma says:

    Wow these sound amazing! I have always thought the cookie dough tastes better than the finished thing so these would be perfect for me! #freefromfridays

    Like

  2. Cristina @ I Say Nomato says:

    I’ve been looking for a good truffle recipe! Mr. Nomato loves raw cookie dough soooo I might have to make these. And I’m completely on the same page with you when it comes to Udderly Divine… seriously the BEST flavour, that fudge ripple, mmm!

    Like

Leave a Reply

