Pumpkin Loaf

Pumpkin Loaf by the Bluenose Baker

I may have mentioned it previously, but I’ll confess it again – I’m not really a big pumpkin fan. I don’t mind the occasional baked good, and I’ve had really good pumpkin cheesecake, but I don’t quite get why people are adding it to everything under the sun. Plus my husband maintains that vegetables don’t belong in baked goods, and won’t touch squash in any form, so there’s not much point in me making pumpkin treats.

I prefer to decorate with pumpkins rather than bake with them!

DSCF5877

This recipe is my one exception. My mom has made this pumpkin loaf since I was a kid, and it tastes (and smells) just like the falls of my childhood! It’s moist and perfectly spiced.

DSCF5719

The cast of characters: flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, shortening, sugar, eggs, milk and pumpkin.

DSCF5681

Start with your dry ingredients. Whisk them together in a large bowl.

DSCF5682

Cream the butter and shortening together. A stand mixer or hand mixer make it easier, but it won’t kill you to do it by hand if those aren’t available!

DSCF5685

Beat in the eggs.

DSCF5687

Then beat in the milk and pumpkin. Soy or rice milk works fine for a dairy free version. Make sure you’re using pure pumpkin puree, not pie filling. If I’ve got it on hand, I’ll use pumpkin I’ve pureed and frozen, but canned works fine (that’s what I used this time.)

DSCF5690

DSCF5691

Add the wet ingredients to the dry, and mix gently until just combined.

DSCF5693

Grease a large (9 x 5 inch) loaf pan and pour in the batter, smoothing the top.

DSCF5696

The loaf will need about an hour to bake. Check periodically that the top isn’t getting too brown, and cover it with foil if it does. The pumpkin loaf is done when a toothpick comes out with just a few moist crumbs.

Let the loaf cool completely before removing from the pan and slicing.

DSCF5726

A large loaf is great for a crowd, but the batter can also be baked in smaller pans.

This adorable pan was the whole inspiration for this post!

DSCF5753

I also found some disposable paper pans with a cute fall pattern. The recipe will make 4 mini loaves.

DSCF5754

Bake them on a cookie sheet for 30 – 35 minutes (yield and baking time will depend a lot on the size of your pans, so keep an eye on them.)

Personal pumpkin loaves!

Pumpkin Loaf

This size is great for gift giving, or for bake sales (these are destined for the pantry table of a church turkey supper.) They’d make cute favours for Thanksgiving Dinner (I’ll file that idea away for next year!)

Pumpkin Loaf

  • Servings: 1 large loaf
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 ⅔ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ teaspoons cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon cloves
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ½ cup shortening
  • 1 ½ cups granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350° and spray a large loaf pan (9 by 5 inches) with baking spray.

Whisk flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and spices together in a large bowl.

Cream shortening and sugar together in a stand mixer (or in a medium bowl with a hand mixer.) Add eggs and mix until combined. Add milk and pumpkin and mix well.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined. Do not overmix.

Pour the batter into prepared pan.

Bake for an hour, or until a toothpick comes out with just a few moist crumbs. Cover with foil during baking if the top browns before the inside is baked.

Cool in the pan, then slice.

Can also be baked in smaller loaf pans. Time and yield will vary depending on pan size.

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Loaf

    • bluenosebaker says:

      Me too! When I started the blog and started going through my notebooks for recipes to blog, so many of them were foods that reminded me of my childhood or an event or family member. Food and memories go together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

