Dark Chocolate Cranberry Blondies

Back in the summer, when I posted the recipe for Basic Blondies, I mentioned that one of my favourite versions would be coming up. This is it – the same chewy, crumbly blondie base studded with dried cranberries and dark chocolate chips.

DSCF5196

DSCF5201edited

Craisins are one of my biggest weaknesses. I’m not sure where I developed a taste for them, since until recently I didn’t like cranberries and still don’t like raisins. But for the past 18 months or so, I’ve been sprinkling them on salads, adding them to muffins and oatmeal, and just eating them by the handful. Those handfuls are even better with the addition of a bit of dark chocolate. Which is a pretty healthy choice if you eat it for dessert, but not if you eat a handful every 20 minutes all afternoon…

Needless to say, I love the combo of dried cranberries and dark chocolate, and developed these tasty squares to take advantage of that great pairing.

You’ll need melted butter, brown sugar, an egg, vanilla, flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, dried cranberries, and dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli.)

DSCF5121

Whisk your dry ingredients together in a medium bowl.

DSCF5127

Whisk the butter and sugar together in a large bowl, making sure to squish or fish out any stubborn brown sugar lumps.

DSCF5130edited

Add the egg and vanilla and whisk until smooth.

DSCF5134edited

Add the dry ingredients, mixing until smooth. Sometimes I use the whisk for this step too and sometimes I switch to a wooden spoon or spatula.

DSCF5136edited

DSCF5138edited

Mix in the chocolate chips and dried cranberries.

DSCF5139edited

Scrape the batter into a foil-lined and greased 8 x 8 inch pan. Smooth the top and sprinkle a few more chocolate chips on to make it look pretty.

DSCF5143edited

Bake at 350° for 20 – 25 minutes until the top is lightly browned. Mine are generally done at about 23 minutes.

Allow to cool completely and then cut into squares.

DSCF5198edited

Dark Chocolate Cranberry Blondies

  • Servings: 16 squares
  • Time: Prep: 15 min, Bake: 25 min
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons salted butter, melted
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • ½ cup dried cranberries
  • ½ cup dark chocolate chips, plus more for sprinkling on top

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Line an 8 x 8 inch pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.

Whisk the flour, baking powder, soda and salt together in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl, whisk the sugar and butter until smooth. If there are any brown sugar lumps, squish them with a spoon or fish them out.

Add the egg and vanilla and whisk until combined.

Add dry ingredients and mix with a wooden spoon or spatula until everything is combined.

Add chocolate chips and cranberries and mix until evenly distributed.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top. Sprinkle with an additional 1 – 2 tablespoons chocolate chips, if desired.

Bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes, until the top is lightly browned.

Let the blondies cool completely before cutting into squares.

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Cranberry Blondies

  1. I Say Nomato (@ISayNomato) says:

    Ghiradelli chocolate chips are the best, eh? Their brownie mix is the only one I’ll even go near! These look completely incredible, just chewy perfection! For some reason I love the yogurt covered craisins even though I don’t really like cranberries either!

    Like

    • bluenosebaker says:

      I’ve heard good things about the brownie mix! Might have to look next time I’m at Costco, I think I’ve seen it there. I’ve never had yogurt covered craisins, but I go through the dark chocolate covered ones like crazy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

