Friday Five – Summer Reading List 2015

Welcome to my second “Friday Five” post! If you missed my first post last week, you can find it here. Last time I talked about my favourite kitchen tools, but I’m going to take a break from baking today and talk about something outside of the kitchen.

Those of you who know me in person know that I love to read. In fact, love doesn’t seem like a strong enough word. Reading has been an important part of my life as long as I can remember. I have many favourite books from childhood that I still enjoy – I’m only half joking when I say that I became a teacher so I’d never have to give up reading children’s literature. I’ll read just about anything: classic literature, chick lit, crime novels, cookbooks, magazines, even the back of the cereal box (and once on an endless Sunday drive with my family, the car manual!)

My last few summers have been super busy and I’m really enjoying having some time to sit in the sun and read this year. So here is this week’s Friday Five – five books on my reading list this summer. Some I’ve read and some I have yet to read, but I plan to have them all finished by the end of the summer. A few of them have threads in common – settings in the 1940s and 50s, teenage protagonists, stories told from multiple perspectives. Here’s what’s on my bookshelf!

Summer Reading List

In the unlikely event

  1. In The Unlikely Event by Judy Blume. Read. Growing up, I was a big fan of Judy Blume’s books for kids and teens, and her adult novel, Summer Sisters, is one of my all-time favourite books. I was excited just to have more of her work to read, but I was intrigued by the subject as well. It’s about a series of plane crashes in New Jersey in the early 1950’s and how they affected the people of the town, specifically the youth. I really enjoyed it, and would consider it one of the best books I’ve read in a long time.

All the light we cannot see

  1. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. Read. This book has been on my list for a while (it came out in November 2014) and I finally got around to reading it this summer. It’s a World War II story, following the lives of several characters whose stories converge in Saint-Malo, France, shortly after D-Day. This was another story I really enjoyed; the characters were very vivid and “real.” I came across a list of books to read if you loved this one – one is already on my list (see number 3), two I’ve already read and loved (Fall of Giants by Ken Follett and The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton) and At Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen didn’t make the post but is still on my personal “to read” list.

The Nightengale

  1. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. Read. I’ve loved Kristin Hannah’s books since the “Firefly Lane” craze several years ago, and I’ve got my mom and a few of her friends hooked on them as well. The setting is similar to All The Light We Cannot See, following the lives of two sisters in occupied France during the war. I enjoyed the book, but found it very different from Hannah’s other books (which are mostly set in the Pacific Northwest.) I almost felt like I was reading a Kate Morton book, with the war-time setting.

Go set a watchman

  1. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee. About to Start. There has been a ton of publicity and controversy about this book, which was written before To Kill A Mockingbird but is set years later. I haven’t read any reviews and I’m trying to go into it with an open mind. I’ve loved To Kill A Mockingbird since I read it as a teen and I’m excited to read more about familiar characters. I’m re-reading To Kill A Mockingbird right now and then I plan to start Go Set a Watchman (my mom bought it for me yesterday!)

Royal Wedding

  1. Royal Wedding: A Princess Diaries Novel by Meg Cabot. Yet to Read. I felt like I needed to have one totally fluffy choice on the list! This is a “grown-up” Princess Diaries book, as Princess Mia plans a royal wedding. I loved the Princess Diaries series as a teen, and I read all the Heather Wells mysteries and Cabot’s other adult books in university. I’d like to read this one just for old times’ sake, though I’m sure it’ll be pretty silly!

So that’s what I’m reading this summer! I have a few others on my list, we will see how far the Chapters gift cards stretch! I’ll give an honorable mention to At Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen; I do plan to read it but felt like the list was already a bit WW II heavy.

What are you reading this summer? Have you read anything on my list? What did you think?

One thought on “Friday Five – Summer Reading List 2015

Leave a Reply

