Peanut Butter Squares

DSCF3685edited

I’ve already mentioned here that peanut butter and chocolate is one of my all-time favourite food combinations. I salivate over lists of decadent desserts like this one (Buzzfeed is another of my obsessions) but am just as happy with some chocolate chips sprinkled on a spoonful of PB. These simple squares have been one of my favourite treats since childhood. My mom made them frequently while I was growing up and my brother and I both adore them.

If you’re still looking for a quick, simple dessert for Mother’s Day, these peanut butter squares are perfect. Especially if your mom loves peanut butter and chocolate like mine does!

You’ll need butter or margarine (I used margarine because I wanted them to taste exactly like Mom’s did), peanut butter, icing sugar and chocolate chips.

DSCF3606edited

Melt the first amount of margarine and peanut butter in a medium bowl in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds (it took about 1:20 in my microwave.)

DSCF3609edited

Don’t try to healthify these by using low-fat peanut butter – they’ll be too dry.

Stir in the icing sugar. I’m still working from the same very lumpy bag of sugar so I sifted mine.

DSCF3612edited

You’ll end up with a soft dough.

DSCF3615edited

Press into the bottom of a 9 x 9 pan. The dough doesn’t stick to the pan too badly, so the foil liner is optional, but I use foil when I want to cut the squares very neatly. That way I can lift the whole pan out and set it on the cutting board rather than trying to reach into the pan. These were for a church pantry table so I wanted them to look nice, I don’t worry about neat cutting when they’re just for family!

DSCF3616edited

Melt the chocolate chips with the additional 2 tablespoons of margarine. Spread the chocolate evenly on top with a knife or offset spatula.

DSCF3620edited

Chill for about 30 minutes, until set but not solid. If chilled for too long, the chocolate layer becomes hard and it’s difficult to cut neat squares. If you need to chill for longer, let the pan sit at room temperature for a bit before cutting.

Cut into squares of desired size with a sharp knife. I generally cut them quite small, especially if I’m putting them on a dessert tray with other squares or sweets.  Store in an air-tight container in the fridge. The squares will stay fresh for several days.

DSCF3687edited

What are your Mother’s Day menu plans? It’s supposed to be 23 degrees here (it’s about time we got some warm weather!) so we’re planning to barbeque. I’m making some rolls and still pondering what to bake for dessert. Chocolate pudding cake maybe? Whatever it is will appear on the blog soon I’m sure! Enjoy your weekend and Happy Mother’s Day!

DSCF3681edited

Peanut Butter Squares

  • Servings: 36 squares
  • Time: Prep: 20 min, Chill: 30 min
  • Print

Ingredients:

Filling:

  • ½ cup butter or margarine
  • ¾ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 ¼ cups icing sugar

Topping:

  • 1 ¼ cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine

Directions:

Melt the first amount of margarine and peanut butter in a medium bowl in the microwave, stirring every 30 seconds.

Stir in the icing sugar.

Press into the bottom of a 9 x 9 pan.

Melt the chocolate chips with an additional 2 tablespoons of margarine. Spread the chocolate on top.

Chill for about 30 minutes, until set but not solid, and cut into squares with a sharp knife.

Store in an air-tight container in the refrigerator.

7 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Squares

Leave a Reply

